Account creation must occur before a user can join a team, join a Space and start collaborating with other Team Members. SpiderOak CrossClave uses a unique system during account creation to link your account to your keys. One Key is an Account ID key that is shared with the Team Admins so they may add users to the team, and the other Key is the user’s account Recovery Key. The account Recovery Key allows users to add their CrossClave account to other devices and recover the current account if it’s ever lost.
During the account setup, the user is required to copy and paste this key to confirm the user has recorded it. If this key is lost, the account cannot be recovered and all Personal Spaces associated with this account will be lost. SpiderOak strongly recommends storing this key securely, as a printed paper copy stored in a safe or in a trusted password manager.
How do I create a CrossClave account?
When a user launches SpiderOak CrossClave
for the first time they will be greeted with the initial screen asking them to “Sign Up” or “Log In.” The user will want to select “Sign Up.” Note that most users should maintain only one CrossClave account. This account may join many teams within CrossClave.
After selecting “Sign Up”, the user will be presented with a screen requesting a “Team URL.” The Team URL simply points SpiderOak CrossClave to the correct server and ensures the user’s account is being created on the same server as the team. The user will receive the Team URL from their internal IT team. Input the Team URL into the field and select “Continue.”
On the next screen the user will be prompted to copy and save their account Recovery Key. This is essential and should not be skipped. The account recovery key is used to generate the encryption keys necessary for SpiderOak CrossClave to function. This key is also used when setting up additional devices. If this key is lost, the account cannot be recovered and all Personal Spaces associated with this account will be lost. SpiderOak strongly recommends storing this key securely, as a printed paper copy stored in a safe or in a trusted password manager.
The next screen requires the user to paste the account Recovery Key. This ensures the user has at least copied the key before moving forward. Once the user has copied the account recovery key into the field they may select “Sign Up” and the account is created.