Managing Space membership by adding and removing Team Members from Spaces ensures that only the desired team members have access to shared data. A Space admin may add a Team Member a space.
When a user creates a space and adds team members to that space, they automatically become the admin for that Space.
How do I add a member to a Space?
First, select the correct Space. Once the correct Space is selected, select the dropdown arrow in the top right, and then select “Add Members…”
The “Invite to…” window will be displayed, showing the Space admin every team member who can be invited to the space. Note that a user must be added to the Team before they can be added to a Space. Add a member to the Space by selecting the + icon next to their user name.
How do I remove a member from a Space?
With the correct Space selected, navigate to the 'People' sub-tab, and then select the user you wish to remove.
When the members of the Space are displayed, select the name of the member who should be removed. The member’s profile will be shown; the profile displays a padlock icon, their avatar, name, and Account ID. Select the padlock icon and choose “Remove from Space” from the pop-up menu.
Removing a team member from a Space requires confirmation from the admin. Select “Remove Member” upon the confirmation screen and the member will be immediately removed.
Special scenarios and extra considerations
Space Membership is flexible - a member who is removed from a Space can always be added back.
If a Space does not have an admin, users may not be added or removed. Admins should avoid leaving a Space before confirming the Space still has another admin. (Please note that a future version of CrossClave will implement a recovery key that will allow recovery of these Spaces, and promotion of a new Admin. This feature is not yet implemented.)