Managing Space membership by adding and removing Team Members from Spaces ensures that only the desired team members have access to shared data. A Space admin may add a Team Member to a Space.
How do I add a member to a space?
First, select the correct Space. Once the correct Space is selected, select the dropdown arrow next to the Space name above, and then select “Add Members…”
The “Invite to…” window will be displayed, showing the Space admin every team member who can be invited to the space. Note that a user must be added to the Team before they can be added to a Space. Add a member to the Space by selecting the + icon next to their user name.
Whenever multiple members exist in a Space, it is no longer considered a Personal Space and immediately becomes a Shared Space in which all users can view and interact with all files.
How do I remove a member from a space?
- With the correct Space selected, select the dropdown arrow next to the Space name above, and then select “Space Members.”
- When the “Space Members” are displayed, click on the name of the member who should be removed. The member’s profile will be shown; the profile displays a padlock icon, their avatar, name, and Account ID. Select the padlock icon and choose “Remove from Space” from the pop-up menu.
Removing a team member from a Shared Space requires confirmation from the admin. Select “Remove Member” upon the confirmation screen and the member will be immediately removed.
Special scenarios and extra considerations
Space Membership is flexible - a member who is removed from a Shared Space can always be added back.
If a Space does not have an admin, users may not be added or removed. Admins should avoid leaving a Space before confirming the Space still has another admin. (Please note that a future version of Share will implement a recovery key that will allow recovery of these Spaces, and promotion of a new Admin. This feature is not yet implemented.)