To delete an entire device, open the Manage tab in the SpiderOak One or Groups application. Next, select the device you would like to remove and then click the Remove button. When prompted if you would like to remove the device, choose yes. This will remove the device and those files that are associated with it and no other device. For more details, see What Files Are Deleted When You Delete a Device.
It is not possible to restore a deleted device or its files, so make sure that this is what you want.
As a safety measure, you cannot delete the device that you are currently using. If you attempt this, the application will give an error. You must be using a different computer in your account to delete a device.
This implies that you cannot delete the only device in your account. If you want to delete all devices from your account, you will have to leave one device, then create a new device on any computer. You can then use the new device to delete the last remaining old device.
If you delete a device and do not immediately see your storage size reduced, this could be happening for two reasons:
Sometimes it takes a few minutes for the application to update itself with the servers. In this case, the size will adjust itself automatically within a few minutes.
If the data on this device was also stored on another device in your account, the data was deduplicated so that only one set of files was taking up space in your account. As long as you have one full set of files, they will continue to take up the full amount of space.
If you attempt to delete a device but it fails with the message "that device is currently connected", first de-authorize it to terminate the connection. Now you can delete that device in the normal way.
If you have any feedback on this article please let our support team know. Thanks!